Mystery Blogger Award

So there are various ‘pay it forward’ awards out there in cyberspace, and JS Pailly of Pailly’s World has nominated me for one!  Thanks James – very much appreciated.  If you’re ever on this side of the pond, I’ll buy you a pint. The specific award was created by Okoto Enigma (who is also eligible to claim a free pint):

“Mystery Blogger Award” is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion.

I’m not sure if I recognise my blog in that, but I’m glad that James has found it inspiring, and I hope that I can keep up the good work.

mystery-blog-award[1]

The sting in the tail with these awards is that it’s not enough to simply nominate someone, you have to follow the rules…(I’ve included those for the MBA at the end of this post.  The key thing is that I now have to provide you with three facts about myself, answer five questions set by James, nominate a group of people for the award (who don’t have to accept!), and set my own questions.  Without further ado (drumroll, maestro, please):

Three Facts About David Jesson (alias, @breakerofthings)

  • Whilst at Uni, I won Colours for Archery, and represented the University at the Student Championships.  (I was ok, won a few medals, nothing special). I was one of the group that went to the inaugral student team championships.
  • With respect to “Secret Science of Superheroes“, for which I contributed a chapter, I can literally say it’s not what you know, it’s who you know – Thanks @funsizesuze!  Without you, I wouldn’t have had a crack at that gig.
  • I try not to drink the same beer twice in a row.

Five Questions from JS Pailly

  1. What do you want to be when you grow up?

Wait…what? I have to grow up?  Hmmm…getting paid for this writing malarky would be nice, but like most writers, I write because I have to, getting paid is a bonus.  (If any publishers are reading this, no, I will not give you my work for free!).   It would be nice to know that I made a difference, but most people don’t really get that opportunity.

2. What book has had the most influence on you?

Sorry, null question.  There are so many books that contributed to me being me.  It’s no secret that I am a huge Terry Pratchett fan, but there are lots of books that I think are very clever.  I’m going to go with a non-intuitive answer for this one and say Jane Eyre.  I studied this book at school, and *hated* it (yes, with a passion you can only dream off).  But I got a better mark for deconstructing it than I did for appreciating TP’s Reaper Man.   So in terms of an influence, that was huge, and probably contributes to my career as a researcher as much as anything else, in the sense that it taught me to be critical, but in an organised and thorough way.

3. Has a movie ever brought you to tears? If so, what movie was it?

I am not ashamed to say that the first five minutes of “UP” made me blub.

4. If you were a dinosaur, which dinosaur do you think you’d be and why?

Tough…there is a sneaky part of me that wants to say “one of those from Roundworld, you know, the ones that build a space elevator and leave the Earth”.  I suspect that is not quite the spirit of the question though.  Oh well.  That’s the kind of dinosaur I’d be, because Science.

5. What will be the title of your autobiography?

At this point I don’t feel that I’ve done anything that’s particularly worthy of an autobiography, but I’d probably give it the same name as my blog, or perhaps “Breaking Things for Fun and Profit”…maybe not…

 

And my nominations (who really are not under any obligation to accept, really, honestly and truly, it’s just a bit of fun and…) are, in alphabetical order:

 

I was also going to nominate Ceolsige (who has a site with brilliant writely resources), and, Redheaded Booklover (for services to book reviews) but someone got there first.

My Questions

  1. You are HG Wells’ Timetraveller, attempting to restart civilisation in the far future: what one book would you take with you to help?  (ebook readers not allowed!).
  2. Book first or film first?
  3. Following on from the previous question, has an adaptation ever ruined the original for you to such a point that you couldn’t read/watch the original anymore?
  4. Beer or wine?
  5. What was the last book that you read that made you say “[insert favoured cuss], I wish *I’d* written that”?

 

Award Rules

  • Put the award logo on your blog.
  • List the rules.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and link to their blog.
  • Mention the creator of the award (Okoto Enigma) and provide a link as well.
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.
  • Nominate roughly 10 – 20 people for this award.
  • Notify your nominees by commenting on their blogs.
  • Ask your nominees five questions.
  • Share a link to your best/favorite post that you’ve written.

Best/Favourite Post

The numbers say that my AtoZ post ‘Antimatter‘ is my most popular to date, but my favourite is probably my post on the difference between s.f. and sci-fi. Maybe.

 

9 thoughts on “Mystery Blogger Award

  1. haha love the Pratchett love 😉 But even though I like Jane Eyre, I can relate to getting good marks for things you don’t like- while I liked Wife of Bath, I *loathed* the character- best essay I ever wrote 😉 Great post- thanks so much for the nomination!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very welcome – I’m sure I will be scouring your book reviews for new reads in the future.

      Could be the title of book – Hating Literature for Good Marks! We could probably start a club!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the nomination! I have a few in mind myself, but not ten. Thing is, some of my favourite blogs are multi-person blogs, such as The History Girls, and others don’t post very often or the author might be a bit too dignified! But I do have five or six favourites who post regularly I can nominate, assuming they haven’t been overwhelmed already! One, for example, is The Multicolored Diary, which is a delight – but she probably has other nominators. Still, will try!

    Yes, I sniffled over those first few minutes of Up, myself – and the ending as well. I was teaching it for a few years, as a film text, and each time saw something I’d missed before. The kids, of course, only saw it once! They enjoyed it.

    Okay, read your favourite post and commented on it – lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sue,
      Thanks for stopping by – and glad you enjoyed the SF vs Sci-Fi post!

      WRT to awards, I’m still new to this, so y’know, it’s just an honour to be be nominated…[3 hr ramble edited out]… But I think the key point here is that you are taking the time to say “I like what you’ve done over here” – if the nominee want’s to pick it up and run with it that is up to them. There was at least one person on my list who I was confident would say no thank you, but I wanted them to know that I thought that thy had made the web a better and brighter place. My 2 p. I will check out some of your suggestions.
      Up is due a rewatch soon, I think!

      Like

  3. Well, after you said such a sweet thing about my blog, I’ll relent and answer your questions here. Because they’re really good questions. Thanks, again, for thinking of me.

    My answers:
    1. The Complete Works of Shakespeare
    2. Book before movie.
    3. Yes. The Wizard of Oz. When the movie changed Dorothy’s shoes from silver to ruby I thought that the ruby slippers made so much more sense than silver, so I never wanted to read the story again.
    4. Depends on the food. Beer with sandwiches and snacks, wine with stews and entrees.
    5. The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Ally – those are great answers. The name Kate Morton rings a bell, but I don’t think I’ve read anything by her…will have to check the book out.

      Like

  4. Thanks for the nomination – and I’ve tagged you back (not sure if that’s allowed, but hey!) You don’t need to go round again, but maybe do what Ally has done and put answers in my comments? But only if you feel like it …

    It takes a lot longer to put a response blog post together than I thought too, especially as I had two sets of questions to answer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I saw yours and Ally’s comments at the same time and I thought that Ally’s approach made a lot of sense!

      Like

Leave a Reply

